Yo-Yo Ma returns to Tanglewood this summer to celebrate the life, work, and legacy of Leonard Bernstein.

On August 19, Yo-Yo Ma joins Andris Nelsons and the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra for the annual Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert as featured soloist in the world premiere of a new piece by John Williams and in Bernstein’s Three Meditations from Mass. The concert also celebrates new sculptures of Aaron Copland, Serge Koussevitzky, and Leonard Bernstein, commissioned by John Williams for the Tanglewood grounds.

Festivities continue on August 25 as Yo-Yo Ma joins artists from classical music, film, and Broadway for The Bernstein Centennial Celebration at Tanglewood. Featuring performances of Bernstein works such as Candide, West Side Story, and Mass alongside classical music beloved by Bernstein, the gala concert includes performances by:

The Boston Symphony Orchestra with members of the New York Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra, Pacific Music Festival, and Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Christoph Eschenbach, conductor
Keith Lockhart, conductor
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
John Williams, conductor
Audra McDonald, host and vocalist
Midori, violin
Yo-Yo Ma, cello
Kian Soltani, cello
Nadine Sierra, soprano
Susan Graham, mezzo-soprano
Isabel Leonard, mezzo-soprano
Thomas Hampson, baritone
Jessica Vosk and Tony Yazbeck, vocalists
Tanglewood Festival Chorus